My First Toastmaster Speech

(Courtesty of gingerpublicspeaking.com)
(Courtesty of gingerpublicspeaking.com)

I went to a toastmaster meeting today and delivered my first ever toastmaster speech.  The topic of the speech was “How to Deal with Disappointment.”  It was not a compete disaster, I think.

According to my critic, my first speech was difficult to follow.  I talked a lot about a number of things but did not tie it all together.  He was on point.  I actually went home and added another paragraph to what I wrote a few days earlier on disappointment.

The first speech was a real eye-opener for me.  I discovered that I am not that great at public speaking.  It’s similar to recording yourself singing and then feeling uncomfortable as you hear your nervous self struggle to speak for the first time.  I also learned that no one is born a public speaker.  It is a skill that you perfect with practice.

Leave a Reply

